Wednesday, 09 June 2021 15:53

About the Burren

The area of the Burren and Cliffs of Moher UNESCO Global Geopark covers 530 square kilometers. Its boundary is marked to the West and North by the coast from Hag’s Head to the county border at New Quay. It then runs south along the county border to Tubber and westwards through Corofin, Kilfenora, north of Kilshanny and on to Hag’s Head.

Top 10 Geology Facts...........


  1. The rocks of the Burren were formed around 330 million years ago.
  2. The Burren limestone was formed in a shallow tropical sea near the equator.
  3. Fossil corals, crinoids and brachiopods are common in the Burren limestone, they are also 330 million years old.
  4. The layers of rock that make the Cliffs of Moher were formed by rivers flowing into a sea, forming a delta like the Mississippi delta.
  5. The patterns in the Moher flagstones were made by an unknown creature burrowing just below the surface of sand layers on a shallow coast.
  6. The cracks in the limestone and the Cliffs of Moher were formed by plate tectonic collision almost 300 million years ago and have been enlarged by weathering.
  7. The gentle curves of the layers of limestone on Mullaghmore in the Burren National Park were also formed by tectonic collision almost 300 million years ago.
  8. During the last Ice Age c.200m thick flowing ice sheets shaped the valleys and hills of the Burren.
  9. The limestone in the Burren is dissolved by weakly acidic rain and groundwater, forming caves, so most of the water is underground.
  10. In 5 million years the Burren will have been dissolved completely.